Queensland Country Health Fund Directors

Michael Beard

Michael BeardChair (since 6 April 2006) and Independent Non-Executive Director - B. Com.; FAMI.; CA.

Term of office:  Appointed 10 May 2001.

Skills & Experience:

Michael has been Principal of Accountancy Services Pty Ltd for over 25 years and provides accounting, taxation and business advice for thousands of individuals and small to medium business clients across three offices on the Sunshine Coast and in Mount Isa.  Michael’s work as a chartered accountant assists the Board with the Health Fund’s complex financial reporting requirements.  Michael is also the Chair of the Board of Queensland Country Care Navigation Pty Ltd.

Board Committee membership:

Governance Committee (Committee Chair); Risk Management Committee; Audit Committee

Karen Read

Karen ReadDeputy Chair (since 21 April 2017) and Independent Non-Executive Director - B. Bus.; FCPA; GAICD; MAMI.

Term of office:  Appointed 15 April 2005.

Skills & Experience: 

Karen is a senior finance and commercial executive and has extensive experience within the mining and resources sector with a career spanning 30 years.  From 2014 to 2017, Karen was employed as the Chief Financial Officer for Premise (formerly known as 02UDP Group Pty Ltd), a consulting, engineering and project practice with offices across Queensland and in PNG.  Karen has extensive Board experience including the following current positions: Director, Queensland Country Bank Limited; Director, North West Hospital and Health Service; Independent Chair of Mount Isa Water Board Finance and Audit Committee; and Chair of NQ Branch Council of CPA Australia.

Board Committee membership:

Audit Committee (Committee Chair); Governance Committee.

Deirdre Comerford

Deirdre ComerfordIndependent Non-Executive Director - GAICD

Term of office:  Appointed 1 October 2017.

Skills & Experience:

Deirdre served 18 years as an Elected Member of Local Government, four of these (2012-2016) as Mayor of Mackay Regional Council, and has served on various Boards in the roles of Chair, Company Secretary and Director.  Deirdre has been awarded Life Membership by Mackay Tourism Ltd and in 2017 CQUniversity received the ‘Honorary Award of Companion of the University’, in recognition of her being at the forefront of bringing innovative ideas back to the Council and the community. Deirdre is a Director of Queensland Country Care Navigation Pty Ltd, is a Member of the Queensland Grants Commission and is a Trustee of Macrossan and Amiet Charitable Foundation.

Board Committee membership:

Audit Committee.

Christine Flynn

Christine FlynnIndependent Non-Executive Director - BA; Dip. Education; GAICD; MAMI

Term of office:  Appointed 1 July 2018

Skills & Experience:

Christine is an experienced board chair and director, and executive leader recognised for her capabilities in board governance, organisation strategy, strategic risk and leadership. Christine is an accredited facilitator for the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She also serves as a Director on the Queensland Country Credit Union Limited Board. Christine has held roles as a senior executive in the public service, and on Boards including roles as President of IPAA Qld, Director on the IRSPM Board, Director of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Queensland Audit Office, QUT School of Business Advisory Board, and was Chair of the Board of the Queenslanders Credit Union until 2018.

Board Committee membership:


Gregory (Greg) Nucifora

Greg NuciforaIndependent Non-Executive Director - B. Com.; CA, GAICD.

Term of office:  Appointed 1 April 2017. 

Skills & Experience:

Greg is a private client advisor with Bell Potter Securities in Cairns and has extensive Board experience, including the following current positions: Director of Queensland Country Bank Limited; Independent Advisor to the Board, Independent Chair of the Finance and Performance Committee, Independent Member the Audit Committee Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Board; Independent Chair of the Audit Committee, Cairns Regional Council; Director of St Michael’s School, Gordonvale; Chair of St Michael’s Parish Finance Committee, Gordonvale; Chair of Catholic Development Fund for Diocese of Cairns; and Chair of Audit Committee for Cairns Indigenous Art Fair. Greg was Chair of ECU Australia Ltd which merged with Queensland Country in April 2017.

Board Committee membership:

Risk Management Committee (Committee Chair);

Patricia O'Callaghan

Patricia O'CallaghanIndependent Non-Executive Director - B. Com.; GAICD 

Term of office:  Appointed 1 August 2016

Skills & Experience:

Patricia is the Chief Executive Officer of Townsville Enterprise, North Queensland’s peak economic and tourism body. Patricia’s diverse career includes four years heading up the Mount Isa Chamber of Commerce and three years as the General Manager of Tourism and Events at Townsville Enterprise.  As a born and bred North Queenslander, Patricia has a deep understanding of the issues and opportunities facing the North. In 2013, Patricia was awarded the Young Manager of the Year through the Australian Institute of Management and in 2018 was awarded the Australian Financial Review Young BOSS Executive of the Year.  Patricia is also a director of Queensland Country Bank Limited.

Board Committee membership:

Governance Committee

Lewis Ramsay

Lewis RamsayIndependent Non-Executive Director - B.Bus (Com); MBA; GAICD 

Term of office:  Appointed 1 May 2017

Skills & Experience:

A fifth-generation Townsville resident, Lewis is a former General Manager of the Townsville Bulletin and surrounding regional newspapers.  Lewis has also worked for the Federal Government in Canberra (Tourism portfolio), served as the Commercial Manager for the North Queensland Cowboys and the Brisbane Broncos Rugby League Clubs, and spent nearly two years as Director, Commercial of Brisbane Marketing (Brisbane’s Office of Economic Development).  Lewis was appointed director of Queensland Country Care Navigation Pty Ltd in October 2017 and holds other non-executive directorships with North Queensland Cowboys and Cowboys Leagues Club.

Board Committee membership:

Risk Management Committee